AHQ: Is a prosperous Congo possible with a 20th Century POD?

So this is a question that's been rattling around in my head for a while now. What exactly caused the Congo to become even more impoverished? It is very rich in natural resources, with a large-enough population, so what was stopping a government from forming that would utilize its resources wisely and enrich the country? Personally, with my (very) limited knowledge, I'm guessing that the rushed independence of the Congo was a factor, maybe the Belgians delay independence and better prepare for independence? Again, I have little to no knowledge of this, so I'm hoping that there's a few experts here on the Congo.

So this is a question that's been rattling around in my head for a while now. What exactly caused the Congo to become even more impoverished? It is very rich in natural resources, with a large-enough population, so what was stopping a government from forming that would utilize its resources wisely and enrich the country? Personally, with my (very) limited knowledge, I'm guessing that the rushed independence of the Congo was a factor, maybe the Belgians delay independence and better prepare for independence? Again, I have little to no knowledge of this, so I'm hoping that there's a few experts here on the Congo.
Everything that happened during colonialism + rapid decolonization with the Belgians wrecking a bunch of shit on their way out + multiple coups + civil wars + brutal corrupt dictatorship that looted the country for all it was worth + yet another civil war that led to the current government securing power. The Congo wasn't dealt a very kind hand. Maybe if the chaos of the 60s is avoided they could luck out and make it into the 70s relatively stable, but the height of the cold war would likely mean the two superpowers would be trying to secure governments favorable to them (Mobutu stayed in power so long because the US backed him for being anti-communist), so they'd have to get hella lucky.